About Me

Me by the sea in Brighton

I trained as a midwife in University College Cork, Ireland in 2010. After graduating I moved to the UK in 2015 where I practiced for nearly three years before deciding to lay down midwifery. During my time training and working as a midwife I loved providing one to one support to parents as they journeyed through pregnancy, labour, birth and into the first few days of new parenthood. It was such a privilege and there were many magical moments! Deciding to leave midwifery was a very difficult decision, but it was the best choice for my wellbeing. Happily, it has led me on a new and unexpected path.

In 2018, I completed the Holistic Baby and Child Care course run by Emerson College at the Rudolph Steiner House in London. The course covered child development from birth to three years and focused on providing respectful and child centred care to children from birth. We learnt about the theories of Emmi Pikler (founder of the Pikler Institute in Hungary and inspiration for the RIE approach to parenting) and Steiner education, and how these meet the Early Years Foundation Stage criteria in early years settings. The course felt like a great addition to my midwifery foundation, to expand my knowledge beyond birth into early childhood.

Now, I use my experience and knowledge to continue supporting parents. I do this by leading my parent and baby groups, facilitating the Positive Birth Movement group in Horsham and offering birth and postnatal doula support. My wish is to support parents in preparing for birth and life with a newborn, and then walk alongside them so they feel supported, informed and positive about this momentous time in their life.

Since December 2017, I have also had the joy of working part time at FairKind Child, a natural and ethical shop in Horsham with lots of toys and welbeing products for children and families. I love working in this environment and meeting families everyday who are interested in supporting Fairtrade and local businesses.

Me and my wife are resident Friends at a Quaker Meeting House with our cat, Bella. Other than my work, I am nourished by working on craft projects, being in nature and sharing time with friends.